• History Blues
    Seznam skladeb na albu
    • In the mood
    • Don't Lose Your Eyes
    • Louise
    • Recession Blues
    • Forty Days & Forty Nights
    • Juke
    • Moanin' At Midnight
    • Blue Shadows
    • Howlin' For My Baby
    • Stormy Monday
    • The Waterfront
    • I¨m Ready
    • Nine Below Zero
    • Insane Asylum
    • My Time After A While
    • Reconsider
    • Hung Down Head
    • Don't Start Me To Talking
    • Eidenhover Blues
    • Teenage Beat
    • Never Never
    • Your Funeral My Trial
    • Man Loves Two
    • What A Woman
    • Wang Dang Doodle
    • All Aboard
    • (I'm Your) Hoochie Cochie Man
    • So Many Roads, So Many Trains
    • Jump Into Love
    • If You Love Me
    • Evil
    • Mother-In-Law-Blues
    • If I Can¨t Have You
    • Jacqueline
    • We're Gonna Make It
    • Goin' Down Slow
    • How Many More Years
    • One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer
    • Slilm's Blues
    • Little City Woman
    • When My Left Eye Jumps
  • History Blues

    Goin' Down Slow

    Alright, alright.
    Thank you so much ladies and gentlemen right here,
    right here I want to tell you a little story.
    This is about a country boy from down home.
    This young man has never been north before.
    I want you to listen to me, I got something to tell you.

    He heard about Chicago.
    He worked hard over here, made all of that money, 800 dollars.
    After caring for his crop, he called his cousin in Chicago,
    and he said, "Cousin, I'm on my way".
    He picked all of that cotton.
    I said this is about a country boy like myself, B.B. King you know.
    So when he get to Chicago, his cousin meet him and bring him out to the club.
    He said, "Set him up!", cous's payin' for.
    Had all the go-go girls set up, waitin' up.
    They carried him downtown and put him up in one of the pleasure hotels.
    They brought him back out and said, "Set him up!", cous's payin' for.
    His money got a little lighter, they lured him out from the Lute and brought him down to Robert's.
    And then he said, "Set him up!", cous's payin' for.
    And then the 800 dollars, bein' more money then my man had ever had, began to run out.
    Then they moved him out and put him down with the ...
    And then, ladies and gentlemen, the go-go girls would get fewer.
    His friends was fewer.
    All his buddies are startin' passin' him on the other side of the street.
    And then it happened all his buddies were gone.
    And my man knew only one thing to do, it was getting cold there, like it is today,
    you know what I'm talking about.
    He went down to the railroad yard,
    and one of the few ladies that had helped him to spent his money, came by to see him.
    And she said "You fool!, you fool!", I wouldn't have spend your money, but the rest of them was spending your money so I decided to spend my portion too, you know.
    But ladies, God bless 'em, wonderful something's aren't they?.
    They always like to feel like they're needed, and she knew my man needed her bad.
    He gotten sick, he's layin' down there under the boxcar.
    Couldn't read so well, so you know if he couldn't read so well, he couldn't write too well,
    you know what I'm talkin' about?
    So this is a letter back down home, I know what I'm talkin' about.
    It go like this:

    I've had my fun, whoah, if I don't get well no more
    Whoah, I've had my fun, people, ooh, if I don't get well no more
    Yes, my health is faillin' on me now, people
    Ooh, and I'm goin', goin' down slow

    Yes, tell my mother, people, please tell her the shape I'm in
    Ooh yes, tell my people, mother, tell her the shape I'm in
    Tell her to pray for me, people, ooh, to forgive, people, my sins

    Oohooh mother, mother I live alone with my prayers
    Ooh, tell my mother, people, tell her this is all in prayers
    Yes, if you don't see this old body, mother
    Hey, you know I'm out in the world somewhere

Rádia, kde se skladby z alba hrajou

Spustit rádio


Pohoda, jazz!

Jeff Beck ohlásil jedenácté studiové album

Jeff Beck ohlásil jedenácté studiové album

V půlce listopadu vychází živé festivalové DVD Erica Claptona

V půlce listopadu vychází živé festivalové DVD Erica Claptona


Tyto internetové stránky používají soubory cookie. Více informací zde.


Copyright 2000-2018 RadiaCZ s.r.o., IČO: 06533434
Sídlo: Koperníkova 794/6, Vinohrady, 120 00 Praha 2
Spisová značka: C 283817 vedená u Městského soudu v Praze